Middle Belt

The Middle Belt is a collection of minority tribal territories, forming an entity larger than any of the Northern and Southern regions of Nigeria. Initially left inside Northern Nigeria by The British, The Middle Belt was later divided into various states, leaving some tribes in Hausa dominated areas like Zamfara, Kebbi, Kano, Jigawa and Yobe. Furthermore, other Middle Belt states like Niger, Kaduna, Bauchi and Gombe have been overran by Hausa migrants, making them appear to be part of the north. The Middle Belt thus covers Abuja, the federal capital territory and the following modern Nigerian states in part or in full: Kebbi, Zamfara, Niger, Kaduna, Bauchi, Jigawa, Yobe, Borno, Gombe, Adamawa, Taraba, Plateau, Benue, Nassarawa, Kogi, and Kwara.