Posted on January 25, 2012 - No comments


The executive governor of Plateau state, Da Jonah Jang swore in new management committee chairmen of 17 local government areas in the state on January 21st, 2012. According to Jang, it is the climax of an exercise which started with the nomination of appointees by the stakeholders.

As the chairmen took oath of office at the Government Office in Jos, Governor Jang disclosed that the government had wanted to conduct elections before the expiration of previous council chairmen and councilors. However, the plan was scrapped because of the reconstitution of PLASIEC last December, 2011.

Jang admonished a new chairmen, asking them to see their appointments as a call to service. He asked them to fill the code of conduct forms, focus on the completion of uncompleted projects, cooperate with security agencies towards peace and to swear in secretaries and other members of the committees by the next day.

Five previous chairmen were returned and they include Mohammed Zakari of Wase local government. Other returning chairmen are Barr. Timothy Buba of Jos North, Theophilus Shan of Quan Pan, Nicholas Kemi Nshi of Shendam and Emmanuel Loman of Barkin Ladi.

Here are the other chairmen and the local areas they represent: Langtang South, Nanman Barko; Langtang North, Binkur Binding; Pankshin, Philemon Tangni; Bokkos, Zakka Akos; Kanam, Abubakar Dashe; Bassa, Andrew Isa; Mikang, Isa Fomwai, Mangu, Shuaibu Shikben; Riyom, Samuel Audu; Jos East, Daniel Izang; Jos South, Peter Dung.

It should be noted that the former Chairmen of Langtang North and Bokkos local governments, Brian Dadi and Iliya Amagon have obtained an injunction restraining the Plateau State government from truncating their tenure before the expiration of their three-year mandate.

Leave a Comment